29-31 May 2013, Delft, The Netherlands

CD Symposium
Developing Capacity from Rio to Reality: Who's Taking the Lead?

Scientific Committee

The overarching responsibility of the Scientific Committee is to guarantee the scientific quality of the Symposium programme in cooperation with the Organising Committee. Specifically, the Scientific Committee will review the submissions to the Call for Abstracts and the final submitted papers.

The following individuals are members of the Scientific Committee thus far

  • Guy Alaerts (Chair)
    Professor of Capacity Building at IHE Delft and Senior Water Resource Specialist at the World Bank
  • Uta Wehn de Montalvo (Co-Chair)
    Senior Researcher and Programme Coordinator, Knowledge and Capacity Development at IHE Delft
  • Maher Abu-Madi
    Director of the Institute of Environmental and Water Studies at Birzeit University
  • Nancy Alexaki
    Senior Programme Administrator Capacity Building Department at Nuffic
  • Eduardo Araral
    Assistent Professor in Public Policy at the Lee Kuan Yew School
  • Lilliana Arrieta
    Coordinator of REDICA, the Central American Network of Educational Institutions
  • Marieke Boot
    Directie Milieu, Water, Klimaat en Energie, Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Rui Brito
    Assistant Professor Irrigation and Drainage at the Eduardo Mondlane University
  • Themba Gumbo
    Director of Cap-Net UNDP
  • Nimal Gunawardena
    Professor, Department of Agricultural Engineering, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
  • Luca di Mario
    PhD candidate at university of Cambridge, Centre for sustainable development, department of engineering
  • Oscar de Moraes Cordeiro Netto
    Head of the Graduate Program on Environmental Technology and Water Resources – PTARH, University of Brasilia
  • Mark Pascoe
    Chief Executive at the International WaterCentre
  • Corinne Schuster-Wallace
    Water-health nexus specialist, UNU Institute for Water, Environment and Health (UNU-INWEH)
  • Klaas Schwartz
    Senior Lecturer in Water Services Management at IHE Delft
  • Wil Thissen
    Professor of Policy Analysis, head of Policy Analysis section at the Delft University of Technology
  • Gerhard van den Top
    CEO at Vitens Evides International BV
  • Håkan Tropp
    Director of the UNDP Water Governance Facility (WGF) at SIWI
  • Siemen Veenstra
    Project director public-private partnerships at Vitens-Evides International
  • Kirsten de Vette
    Programme Officer at the International Water Association
  • Patricia Wouters
    Founding Director of the Dundee UNESCO IHP-HELP Centre for Water Law, Policy and Science, University of Dundee.
  • Mariëlle van der Zouwen
    Senior scientific researcher knowledge networks & governance at KWR, Watercycle Research Institute